Along with traditional Shaolin Qi Gong sets, Shifu Heng Jin also teaches the internal Tai Ji Quan forms from Yang and Chen styles.



Muscle-Tendon Change Classic (Yì Jīn Jīng 易筋經)


Shaolin is also well known for its health and energy cultivating arts. Qi Gong  (pronounced “chee gung”) integrates a variety of breathing methods with mindful flowing movements. It can be practiced by anyone, regardless of their age, health or fitness level. Qi Gong literally means “life energy cultivation”. Qi Gong has its roots in traditional Chinese medicine, philosophy, and martial arts.




Eight Pieces of Brocade (Bā Duàn Jǐn八段錦)

Bā Duàn Jǐn 八段錦  
(Eight Pieces of Brocades)


Ba Duan JIn is one of the most popular forms of Qi Gong exercises practiced today. This Qi Gong set is comparatively easy to learn with less physical and cognitive demands because it only contains eight simple movements created based on the traditional Chinese medicine theory. Its primary focus is on the release of internal body energy with the intent of producing diverse health benefits through simple breathing and stretching movements.

Yì Jīn Jīng 易筋經
(Muscle-Tendon Change Classic)

Yi Jin Jing is a traditional Shaolin Qi Gong set containing a series of exercises, coordinated with breathing, said to enhance physical health dramatically when practiced consistently. It is a relatively intense form of exercise that aims at strengthening the muscles and tendons, so promoting strength and flexibility, speed and stamina, balance and coordination of the body. These exercises are notable for being a key element of the physical conditioning used in Shaolin training.